Skip to content
Contact Us

The Advanced Mathematics Support Programme (AMSP) aims to:

  • Provide extensive support for teaching Higher Tier GCSE Mathematics, AS/A level Mathematics, AS/A level Further Mathematics, and Core Maths
  • Improve provision for Level 3 maths by supporting more schools and colleges to offer AS/A Level Further Mathematics and Core Maths
  • Increase participation in Level 3 maths, particularly of female students and other under-represented groups

This support is available nationally, to all state-funded schools and colleges. However, we recognise that some areas of the country would benefit from more focused support. We refer to these places as Priority Areas.

A subset of these Priority Areas are identified as having low participation in Level 3 maths. We refer to these areas as Targeted Support for Level 3 Maths Areas (TSMAs).

93% of schools from Opportunity Areas have engaged with the AMSP since 2018

The AMSP and Department for Education (DfE) have identified 63 local authorities and 6 Opportunity Areas as Priority Areas; these are areas of the country that data on deprivation and disadvantage suggests would benefit from focused support.

The AMSP prioritises its support for state-funded schools and colleges in these areas. An AMSP Coordinator, based locally, will be able to provide tailored assistance to support improvement to Level 3 maths provision and increase participation in Level 3 maths.

Of these 63 Priority Areas, a subset of 36 local authorities have been identified as having low participation in Level 3 maths. We refer to these areas as Targeted Support for Level 3 Maths Areas (TSMAs).

In addition to the support offered to those in Priority Areas, state-funded schools and colleges located within TSMAs are eligible to receive subsidies to support teacher participation in some AMSP professional development courses.

Where are the Priority Areas and TSMAs?

The map below shows areas of the country that have been identified as Priority Areas and the subset that have been identified as TSMAs.


  • Priority Areas
  • TSMAs

TSMAs are marked with

  • Barking and Dagenham
  • Barnsley
  • Birmingham
  • Blackburn with Darwen
  • Blackpool
  • Bolton
  • Bradford
  • Bristol, City of
  • Camden
  • County Durham
  • Coventry
  • Croydon
  • Derby
  • Doncaster
  • Enfield
  • Greenwich
  • Hackney
  • Halton
  • Hammersmith and Fulham
  • Haringey
  • Hartlepool
  • Islington
  • Kensington and Chelsea
  • Kingston upon Hull, City of
  • Knowsley
  • Lambeth
  • Leeds
  • Leicester
  • Lewisham
  • Liverpool
  • Luton
  • Manchester
  • Middlesbrough
  • Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Newham
  • North East Lincolnshire
  • Nottingham
  • Oldham
  • Peterborough
  • Portsmouth
  • Redcar and Cleveland
  • Rochdale
  • Rotherham
  • Salford
  • Sandwell
  • Sheffield
  • South Tyneside
  • Southampton
  • Southwark
  • St. Helens
  • Stockton-on-Tees
  • Stoke-on-Trent
  • Sunderland
  • Tameside
  • Telford and Wrekin
  • Torbay
  • Tower Hamlets
  • Walsall
  • Waltham Forest
  • Wandsworth
  • Westminster
  • Wirral
  • Wolverhampton

There are also 6 Opportunity Areas who are not included at local authority level who will continue to receive Priority Support and these are:

  • Fenland and East Cambridgeshire
  • Hastings
  • Ipswich
  • Norwich
  • West Somerset
  • North Yorkshire Coast

Contact your local Area Coordinator

If you work at a state-funded school or colleges that’s located in an AMSP Priority Area, please get in touch with your local AMSP Area Coordinator. You can find their contact details by selecting your region below.

Back to top
Skip to content